What would life be like if we had fur?

Image

I have two animals in my house; Cooper, a five year old golden retriever, whose full name is Cooperstown Hope, because we hoped he would be an amazing baseball player (turns out he’d rather lay on the ground and cuddle with the ball) and Lucy, a nine year old tabby (pictured) who was named after the character in Narnia. I was 6. Don’t judge me. Anyway, as I stare at Lucy stretched out on my bed and Cooper flopped on the ground like a mop, I can’t help but wonder, what would life be like if we had fur? Not like the thing coat of hairs we have now, but actual fur.

Unfortunately, I think first of the panting that possesses Cooper on hot days. Why can’t my mind be a little romantic once in a while? Our dog seems to perpetually be drooling and panting. Oh, I’m not painting a very nice picture am I. He’s a sweetheart and the most adorable dog ever. But if we humans went around drooling on everything because we couldn’t sweat out our pores? Ugh, no thank you.

Keeping clean would also be an issue. For one thing, we’d have to wash more often. For another, it would take a heck of a lot of time longer. And as a naturally lazy person, I object. Maybe we could lick ourselves. Like cats. No, no, that wouldn’t be good for kissing afterwards.

The upside would be that on cold days we wouldn’t get cold. No extra cloths equals no extra weight. Then again, humid fur…  not nice. Can you imagine being humid all day? Why, you’d have to carry a hair dryer around with you! And hair dryer equals extra weight. So once again, ugh.

After laying forth these points, I’ve come to the conclusion that I’d rather not have fur at all. Oooh, but it would be so soft!

If you have an opinion on the matter or if I missed something, drop me a comment below 🙂

Live long and prosper \V/

Yours sincerely,

The Mostly Confused Teenager.

PS: I got the bedspread when I was little. I haven’t gotten another one. *bright smile*

Leave a Reply

