Motivation, or the lack there of

Image

   diannesylvan.com

Today, I went for a run. I felt proud of myself for taking such initiative and… nah, OK, my mom forced me to go running with her because she thought that I was being too lazy. And I was! But it’s vacation, and I’m perfectly content being lazy. After complaining bitterly for a while, I sucked it up, pulled on my sneakers, and went outside to where my mom was doing some seriously disturbing warmup exercises.

As I watched her unknowingly traumatize me I wondered what the point of this was. Some of you will say that it’s good for your organism, and though I agree, I’m not particularly worried about my body. It’s fine, trust me. And then I remembered that my PE teacher had told me to sign up for track and field, so I thought, “why not start training a little early?”. And so, as I started running, my brave mom already huffing and puffing behind me, I felt a little surge pushing me forward. Motivation was sweet.

I blasted Survivor’s Eye of the Tiger out of my headphones and willed my searing legs to move forward (I’m clearly a bit out of shape). While my muscles were screaming at me to stop the insanity that I was putting them through, I reflected on the strange occurrence that is motivation.

There are all different kinds of motivation. I guess the kind that gets to me the most is motivation for the future. See, I’m a girl with a plan. I’ve had that plan ever since I was six. I will grow up, go to college and become a doctor. There have been obstacles in my way, and conquering them has just given me more motivation to succeed. Because whether my math teacher likes it or not, I will go into the scientific section of my high school. Take that you mean old witch!! Not. Crazy.

That’s motivation for the distant future, but you could also just want to get something over with to, say, go back to watching Awkward (two friends told me about it when they heard that I had started a blog, and I have become addicted. It’s bad guys). You could be motivated for yourself, or to help someone else. Anything is within your reach (except, sadly, finding a cookie the size of a football field, and… um… a couple other things) as long as you have the willpower to go out and achieve your goal.

Finally, you can have motivation because you love something so much that it alone is enough to give you that extra boost. And passion, ladies and gentleman, kangaroos and aliens, is the best motivator of all.

Having contented myself with these sort of (not really) deep thoughts I ran home and collapsed on the front lawn, where I promptly made myself swear that I would never put my body through that horror again. So much for that. But I’m not worried, motivation is not something that can simply disappear forever, I trust that it’ll be back to stalk me before too long.

Live long and prosper \V/

Yours sincerely,

The Mostly Confused Teenager.

PS: Sorry for the crappy writing tonight, I’m still reeling from that run.

2 thoughts on “Motivation, or the lack there of

Leave a Reply

