Twitter

Dear wise readers,

Enlighten me, what is the point of twitter? I stayed up late (it’s 4 am in France) rewatching the Mets win that first game after 9/11, so I decided not to blog tonight. And yet as I lay in my bed, contemplating the meaning of life and other deep thoughts such as the unthinkable fact that my chocolate stash is now depleted, I kept coming back to Twitter, and it’s reason for existence.

From what I can see, it’s basically just a social network for celebrities. Famous people tweet what they’re doing and everyone gets super excited that Eminem is eating Jello. Is that true? Am I catastrophically wrong? Do normal people actually interact on Twitter?

The only other reason I can come up with is using it for professional reasons. My mom has a Twitter account that she seems to use a lot, but it’s all about computer chips and semiconductor and other things that I don’t understand 😉 

Lastly, if the hashtag has now come to Facebook, what is Twitter’s standout feature? 

Live long and prosper \V/

Yours sincerely,

The Mostly Confused Teenager.

PS: Am I the only one who thinks that the Facebook hashtag is incredibly lame?

PPS: Happy Birthday to one of my best friends, who turns 16 today. I love you Parmesan! ❤

17 thoughts on “Twitter

  1. Twitter has a few uses IMO:
    A) Networking
    B) News (If I can’t watch the Mets on TV–for some reason they’re rarely on in Boston–I can at least get up to the split second updates on twitter. Also useful during NBA Draft, or for up to date news on more serious news like Hurricane Sandy or the Boston bombings)
    C) Kitty Pictures–My main purpose on twitter (yeah, yeah, I KNOW, you can get this a lot of places)

    All that said, I can see why it seems silly, and that’s because it is silly. I disagree with you about FB hashtags tho; there are few things I find funnier than a clever hashtag.

    And happy birthday to your friend… August birthdays are pretty sick.

    Last thought: 4 AM is my bedtime too… xD

  2. I created a Twitter account but most of the time, I don’t know what to tweet. “Hey followers, I just ate dinner. The end.” And it only gives me 140 letters.

    For me, Twitter is useless:(

  3. My twitter account is basically just used to get updates on whether I have classes the next or not. That is, on rainy days because in my country, when it rains, IT RAIINNSS and so sometimes, I have no idea if classes are suspended or not, and thus, that is the place I got to 😀 AND YES FACEBOOK HASHTAGS ARE SO LAME and pointless and ridiculous pathetic.I don’t think they understand how hashtags work.Twitter is honestly, pretty lame, too. It just contains fart thoughts. Although….some fart thoughts are pretty brilliant but most of the time, it’s just a bunch of people posting about their doritos and taking 10912 of their toenails. It really doesn’t appeal to me. :/

  4. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who fees like this. I don’t get it either. I thought it was me against the rest of the world. I feel better now. Great post.

  5. Lol I don’t like twitter it is effective only for the celebrities I guess, Can be for you if you think you are a celebrity 😉 I like facebook out of all social networks because we can go through different pages and have enough updates ! Other wise it is as lame as others…. And yes I think hashtag thing is lamest lol

  6. I use twitter as my “noone on facebook wants to know what im doing, eating, or think every second of the day and I update my instagram with too many pictures as is, therefore I need something else to waste my time and post on” social media site. Also, its prime for stalking people… 0:) No, but seriously, I think about deleting my account every day but for some stupid reason: I dont. I dont know why, I just like being able to post things whenever I want.

    As for hashtag on facebook #nothanks hashtags are for overuse on instagram and sometimes twitter. Never facebook. It just wants to be like all the other social media sites, and I dont like sheep.

Leave a Reply

