*awkward singing* You’ve Got a Friend in Me

My friends are an extremely important part of my life. I haven’t always had them, and I guess that that makes me all the more grateful for the ones I do have. They’re always there for me, whether it’s to listen to me rant, help me with a difficult math problem (UGH) or buy me a pack of cookies and slip it to me in class when I miss lunch. I have the best friends in the Universe, and I love them all to bits.

From 1st to 3rd grade I went to a tiny country schoolΒ  in Normandy with about 30 kids in total, ranging from 2 year old’s just starting to get weaned off their mothers to 12 year old’s getting ready to graduate to middle school. We were separated into 3 different classrooms and all shared a small recess court with a sandbox in the corner. Being a small number of students, we were all friends. We had our fair share of trivial yelling matches and feuds, but all in all, we were a tight knit community. That was before anyone had Facebook or anything, and the school was shut down by the government soon after I left, so I never found out what happened to a lot of my old friends.

I left in the middle of the year because my teacher suicided. No one knows why, but they found his burning car on the edge of a cliff. The school being so small, it affected a lot of people, and my parents decided that it wouldn’t be a good thing for me to stay. I moved to a larger school in the closest ‘big city’ about 30 minutes away. Although at first the kids there were all over me, they heard my story and left me alone. I spent most of the second half of 3rd grade pretending that I was a horse and galloping around the recess court. On second thought, maybe people didn’t interact with me because I was weird. Who knows?

In 4th grade I met 3 of my best friends and from then to 6th grade, I experienced my first sleepover, the singing and dancing around the living room, the long hours spent discussing important subjects such as why our 30 year old teacher wasn’t married yet (Was something wrong with her? Why did no one want to marry her? Ah, innocent minds. Of course, she did end up getting married and we felt very pleased with ourselves, as if we’d somehow engineered the whole deal). I love those girls with all my might and I’m glad to be able to call them my friends.

Then, at the start of 7th grade, I moved to Paris. What a shocker that was. I did not want to go. But I made new friends there too, and we spent our time walking around outside in circles until people cataloged us as the crazy girls who had a problem with standing still. We would talk on the phone until 11 pm (were my parents ever mad when they saw the bill) about cute boys that we had spotted during the day, or the sore throat that the principle had that made him sound like Darth Vader. I developed a lot with them, both mentally and um… *blushes* physically.

Last year, I had to leave them too to go to my first bilingual school, the EABJM, where I am now. And once again, I’ve met the most awesomesauce people. I love being able to mix English and French in a way that doesn’t work at all, spending math class listening to my friend make boat noises, and trying to get our fingers to go through the table in Physics because our teacher told us that there was an itsy bitsy possibility that that could happen. Hint: don’t waste your time. We spent hours trying, it doesn’t work.

Friends are fun. Friends are loving. Friends tell you your hair looks fine even though you have concrete proof that it looks like a bird got caught in it and wrestled its way out. Friends comfort you when you’re feeling down. Friends are crazy. Friends are like stars, even though sometimes you can’t see them, you know they’re there. You can make fun of your friends and they won’t care (most of the time ^^). Friends don’t care (and are grateful) that you’re not Sheldon Cooper. Friends will never give up on you, despite your weird obsession with cookies and sports. Friends are awesome.

Friends are people who you meet on your blog and feel instantly connected to. In a totally non creepy way. I’ll leave you with a quote from a certain philosophical little kangaroo in Winnie the Pooh: “Friends can be new, Friends can be old; all of them are as precious as Gold.”

Live long and prosper \V/

Yours sincerely,

The Mostly Confused Teenager.

5 thoughts on “*awkward singing* You’ve Got a Friend in Me

  1. D:< As soon as i read the title of this post, i was racking my brains for where i had heard this song. Correction: I had a total mental breakdown over it o.o I'm one of those people that get really really frustrated when they can't remember something, but feel like they're sooo close to remembering lol…is that weird? Anyway i ended up resorting to Google XD ~~Toy Story! Then I ended up all emotional after that because I remembered how sad Toy Story 3 was. Welp. *cue tissuebox* Ahhh. The random, slightly crazy, wilder side of me tends to emerge after exams are over– sorry πŸ˜›
    Omigosh Sheldon <333 I absolutely love Big bang theory to bits!! This is gonna sound kinda mean :L but i love how clueless and ignorant Penny is sometimes to what's going on with the males haha 8D Do you watch "2 Broke Girls" as well? Hehe I tend to get addicted to American sitcoms :')
    Anyway, I totally agree with you! I don't really know where I would be without my friends and I'm just so grateful to them; they've always been there to support me (especially when we're going, erm, boy-spying, you need a lot of moral support for that :3) !! Except I haven't seem them for a while because there's a "terribad" (<another one of our random words :D) flu epidemic at school and so sadly I'm surrounded by tissueboxes and chicken soup bowls at the moment :L
    On a side note, have you ever tasted bouillabaise? We had an entire show on it today for French~ I never knew that so many types of fish could go into a soup O.O But sadly we didn't get a taste because the presenter used plastic fish and plastic ingredients to demonstrate the recipe :C
    Talk to you later! C:
    -Rainissa

    • I hate when that happens to me! Especially when I know the tune and the same words just keep playing over and over again in my head :3 I cried so hard when I saw Toy Story 3, and I started blubbering to my mom how I would never ever abandon my toys (remember, I’m 15).. It was kind of embarrassing. How did your exams go?
      I love the Big Bang Theory too!! Even though I love science and computers and stuff my friends often say that I resemble Penny, I guess because I’m blonde and I’m always confused about something πŸ˜‰ I watch 2 Broke Girls as well, I’m in love with Max’s horse, he’s so funny! (I’m not a zoophile. Just clarifying).
      Oh no I’m so sorry that you’re not feeling well! At least you can take a break for all the exam rush! I’ve never tasted bouillabaise but I know plenty about it because when I was in 8th grade the boy sitting behind me would talk of nothing else all year. Literally. He explained where it came from, the different ways of making it, the ingredients, the taste… No one listened to him, it was hilarious and kind of sad at the same time x)

Leave a Reply

