The Importance of Appearance

Good people of the Internet, I know you not so I don’t feel bad about admitting this: I am a what could be considered as a slob. Not in the sense that I live in a dumpster filled with old cookie wrappers and Mets stat sheets (although that has happened on occasion) but in my appearance. What I mean is that if I don’t really try, I don’t look presentable to society. And although I pretend that I don’t really care, I hate to admit it, but I do.

Let me paint you a picture. With my words, because let’s face it; I pretty much suck at actual painting. I’m the quintessential ‘looks OK albeit a bit weird at school and acts like a relatively normal person but as soon as she gets home slips into her cosy bathrobe and padded slippers to curl up and watch the highlights of the game with a chocolate bar.’ When I’m home, I don’t care about how I look anymore, there’s no one to judge me, except for my parents, my brother, the dog and the cat. Actually you’d be surprised how judgemental my cat can be.

I interact everyday with people who look perfect, without a hair out of place (well, take my dad out of the mix, he looks like Einstein) and my hair looks like a rat’s nest. Even though I have a hairbrush at the ready permanently in my bag, my problem is far from solved. I cut it to just over my shoulders in an attempt to restrain it… and it laughed in my face. Like, not literally, because I would freak out (where the hell would the mouth be?) but you understand. It didn’t work.

I started putting makeup on in 9th grade because I hoped that it would distract the eye from how red and flustered I got when my crush spoke to me. At first it worked, although only because I put waaay too much on and I looked like a Barbie doll. I toned it down and realized that it actually really helped my overall appearance.  In a year, I haven’t learned much; I still stick my mascara in my eye every morning and have abandoned the idea of ever wearing eyeliner because it makes me look like a demented raccoon, but I have learned that a little blush, lipgloss and mascara can do wonders for your self-esteem.

No matter how much I wish I didn’t care, I still find it important to look, well, acceptable in front of other people. Even though the saying says don’t judge a book by its cover, people do. In the street, people judge you with their eyes. At school, people judge you by your voice. It’s tough, but it’s life. And as someone who looks naturally like a… um… Plain Jane, I find reality hard to swallow.

But all in all, I am who I am, and even if I don’t look like the perfect poster girl, I’m alright. Acceptance is important to me, and although I will always tweek my hair and mess with my concealer (have you ever tried making drawings with it during class? Try it, it’s fun! Or, you know, funner than strictly decreasing functions) if people can’t accept me, then I can’t accept them, and frankly, they’re not worth it.

Live long and prosper \V/

Yours sincerely,

The Mostly Confused Teenager.

PS: sorry for the depressed teen rant tonight, tomorrow will be something a little lighter 😉

 

 

26 thoughts on “The Importance of Appearance

  1. I feel EXACTLY the same way!! Actually, I try to look neat, but after an hour or so, my hair completely freaks out!! WTH!!! Still, like you said, its tough being around ‘perfect’ looking people!
    Btw, is that you in your gravatar pic??? YOU ARE SO PRETTY!! Whats wrong with you??

  2. [ Laughs ] Have you ever seen the hair of certain rock stars? Maybe, you have a good thing going and you don’t even know it!

  3. It does suck that the world will judge you in the instant they see you, whether it’s on a flattering day or not. Don’t let their judgement get to you as long as you are comfortable with yourself that’s all that matters. I was the same way when I was in school, it wasn’t until college that I finally started really caring about how I looked and actually did something about it. By then I had the friends I wanted to make who loved me for me instead of my nice clothes and dolled up face 😉

  4. Just be natural. Too much make up on sometimes don’t attract a “normal guy” . If your hair in unmanageable you can try trimming it or just fixing it in a simple braid or pony. Simplicity is beauty.

    • Since I cut my hair I can’t do much with it, so I try to ignore it as best as I can 😉 And in terms of makeup, I don’t think it’s really visible from the outside, but it makes me feel slightly better on the inside. You’re totally right, simplicity is beauty.

  5. I have a similar problem. I try to comb my hair and look neat, but, how much ever I try to tame my hair, using various hair products. It just doesn’t. It just frizzes out and I end up looking like cotton candy. So, I’ve cut it to about shoulder-length, and it’s much better and tamer now. 🙂

  6. well for me, I’m a man, so I’m supposed to care not that much about this stuff. The weird thing is that I feel very uncomfortable if I don’t know if my hair is doing great. I sometimes forget to look into the mirror before I leave home and if I realize having forgotten it, I begin to feel uncomfortable. The strange thing is, if I have something very strange in my face and I don’t know about it, I feel perfect 🙂 So I always try to make a bit sure that I look ok and talk with people (which is the best way to allow them to get an impression of who you really are).
    By the way, just read a post by my friend Michelle (http://michd74.com/2013/08/17/talking-with-teens/) who talked about a friend of her teen daughter feeling imperfect. You might want to check it out 😉
    Have a great day and never forget, you’re beautiful, just the way you are (Thanks Bruno :D).
    Chris

Leave a Reply

