Guilty Pleasure nº1 — Romantic Comedies

I feel strangely embarassed to admit this, but it’s sadly true. I’m a sucker for RomComs. Isn’t that a stupid name by the way? It’s like someone was too lazy to say the whole thing out loud so they shortened it by by 3/4’s of a second. I’m a naturally lazy person but even I think that that’s taking it to extremes. And anyway I don’t know about you guys but when I hear ‘romcoms’ I think ‘Romulan Communications’. Ah, the mind of a geek.

See? I’m already trying to change the subject! Truth is, I watch a lot of chick flicks, feel all happy and then cry at the end because I’m alone and no matter how much I say that I love the single life, I don’t really think I do. And then I eat a cookie. Cookies are good, they make me happy again 🙂 My mind is easily distracted by such sweet nothings as piping hot chocolate chip cookies coming straight out of the oven.

Crap, I’m getting distracted again.

I’ve tried watching them with my parents but 1) it’s super awkward when we get to the lovemaking scenes and 2) they make fun of them incessantly. Now that’s what I usually do, laugh at everything. When we were in the cinema watching Man of Steel, at the part where he’s on his knees hugging Lois Lane (who’s standing up) on a huge plain of some kind, my friend leaned over and whispered quite seriously “How come he’s got his face in her vagina?” I promptly went into a fit of hysterical giggles and disturbed the whole audience. But laugh at my chick flicks and I will kick your ass to Pluto. In my mind. Because outside l would never give away that I love them. But quite seriously, when is my soul mate going to admit his burning passion for me under the pouring rain all while surely catching pneumonia? I know I know I’m only (almost) 16 and I’m already turning into Ted Mosby, but still.

My favorite one is The Proposal, I love Sandra Bullock’s acting, it’s funny and insanely sweet. Oh and did I mention that Ryan Reynolds is in it? That should be reason enough to love it…

Live long and prosper \V/

Yours sincerely,

The Mostly Confused Teenager.

PS: today I hit over 100 followers, 200 comments and 1000 views on The Mostly Confused Teenager. I already did a big gushy post for 40 followers so I won’t again for your health and safety but I just want to say that I love every last one of you in a most platonic fashion and that every new like, comment or follow simply makes my day. So thanks to all of you lovely aliens for making me so happy by reading my blabberings everyday!

9 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasure nº1 — Romantic Comedies

  1. Rom-coms (and yes it is a weird name!) are the best movies out there! And I love The Proposal, except they play it too often on TV sometimes…
    And as for watching them with others, I tried watching Bridesmaids with my grandparents *cue awkward sex scenes* 🙂

    • I can only stream it cause I can’t bear listening to a french dubbed Ryan Reynolds x) They give him a high pitched voice, it’s just WRONG.
      I know right it’s like impossible to watch with someone older!

Leave a Reply

