Plastic Surgery and Me

My nose has always been a problem for me. Ever since I was a little girl I’ve had this complex that dictates that my nose is simply not up to snuff [bad pun intended]. Then I heard about plastic surgery which could give me the nose I wanted, and hope rose from the dust. Unfortunately for me I did a little research on the subject and decided that I hated the idea of plastic surgery with all my might.

I came to realize that the idea of changing one’s self for no good reason is perfectly appalling. Now I do understand why you would get plastic surgery if you had a birth defect or had been in a horrific accident, as long as it significantly changes your quality of life and the reason is sufficiently valid to trump the extraordinary amount of money that must be dumped into the procedure. For example if you’re being bullied I would consider it a logical course of action, even if my personal beliefs don’t agree with the fact that you’re bowing down to the pressure of society.

HOWEVER, I was watching a television program yesterday on the life of plastic surgeons in Beverly Hills and was shocked and horrified by what I saw. Please explain to me what the point of a boob job is? It was sickening, but for some reason I couldn’t tear my eyes away from the screen or change the channel (it’s the same thing when I come upon Toddlers and Tiaras or Here Comes Honey Boo Boo). I guess that I would say that I judge having a procedure such as a liposuction, body contouring or a thigh lift (I know right?) as taking the easy way out.

Things like a facelift make no sense to me whatsoever. People get old, deal with it! Just because you have a couple wrinkles doesn’t mean that you’re not beautiful. In fact in some cases getting rid of all those laugh lines can make things look very much worse than they were before. Think about Cher, she looks just awful, and she’s had practically every kind of plastic surgery available! She hardly looks human anymore!

Ugh?

Ugh?

A lot of celebrities seem to have bought into the whole plastic surgery thing, like Megan Fox. But why? She’s a natural beauty, that was proven when she was voted into the 100 sexiest women several times by several different magazines. So why the transformation? What did she physically need that she didn’t have? (oh my that does sound wrong doesn’t it?) I just don’t understand, and it makes me both sad and amazed that someone would do something like this to themselves. It’s kind of as if she is the original Transformer (get it? get it? get it? no? *shakes head in resignation*)

I’ll just end by saying that since I have found out all this sh*t about plastic surgery, I am much more appreciative of my nose, which I now realize is not so bad after all.

Live long and prosper \V/

Yours sincerely,

The Mostly Confused Teenager.

PS: I sincerely apologize if I have offended anyone with today’s rant, however this if my opinion and I will stick by it. So in short I’m actually not sorry at all.

EDIT: After having written this I galloped (yes, you read right) off to ask my mom if she would ever consider having plastic surgery. I was shocked that she answered yes, and when she added that she might someday get a facelift I swooned and over-dramatically pretended to faint. She laughed at me and said that when I had wrinkles on my forehead I would understand too. Humpf, I think not!

7 thoughts on “Plastic Surgery and Me

  1. Hey there,
    I agree with you and understood your Transformers joke πŸ˜‰ I think self-confidence and loving life create inner beauty and sexiness that become also visible for others (if you don’t try to make them escape by your look (clothes, make-up, etc.) but I think you usually do not try to do so). So only very shy people and people who do not want to work for their love of life (happiness) need plastic surgery (if not for medical reasons as you described above).
    Have a great day,
    Chris
    P.S. 1: As far as I can see on your profile image, you look perfect πŸ˜‰
    P.S. 2: Thank you very much for your sign of live on http://gammagamification.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/anybody-out-there/

  2. Now comes a mature question: Why do all teenagers put that much emphasis on how they look? Looking at your profile picture I don’t see anything bad. Now seriously, I’ve seen people with genetically defects and accidents. I asked them if they would consider plastic surgery .
    Want to know what they said? “It could be worse!”. And they where right,because there are people that
    actually need plastic surgery(for example those who suffered from elelectrical accidents).
    Plastic surgery takes advantage of people struck with vanity ,that see imperfections where they don’t exist.

    Now,for a little more casual talk: you look just fine,believe me: plastic surgeriescan end up being worse than what was natural. There are lots of problems from plastic surgery,the internet is your friend.

    • It’s a fascinating and important question you ask, and I have tried to explain it before in an earlier post (https://themostlyconfusedteenager.wordpress.com/2013/08/18/the-importance-of-appearance/) although I might just have ended up confusing myself more! The thing is that I look fine. Fundamentally I don’t have a problem with the way I look, which is why I’m befuddled as to why it’s so important to me.
      It’s true that when I heard of the concept of plastic surgery I didn’t think badly of it. However once I’d done a little research I deemed myself to be perfect enough, which was a crucial step for me. Acceptance IS a big deal.

  3. I don’t see the point in a boob job – in as far as enlarging them. For anyone larger than an A cup, I find it practically insulting, especially the people who want to go to, say, my size. I am intending to have surgery, but to reduce them. I don’t get why girls would want to have the kind of sickening attention I’ve had because of my chest.

    I don’t have a problem with surgery to increase your self-esteem, rather than living with a body part you despise. But too many people rush into it without seriously thinking it through, weighing it up, and asking, “Is this really worth it?” For me, a reduction would be absolutely worth it. But while I hate my really crooked fingers, I wouldn’t go through having them all broken just to make them aesthetically pleasing.

    It’s interesting though to see a teenager who doesn’t approve of surgery, and more people could do with having that outlook.

    • Wow your story is really interesting! I think that you’re absolutely right, that it’s question of weighing the pros and cons of having such a procedure.
      I’ve never heard of someone who wants to have a reduction, good luck with that!

Leave a Reply

