A New Hope

2013MERRY CHRISTMAS! Oh wait, that’s past isn’t it. Hum… well, what comes after Christmas? The New Year, right. Ohmygosh 2013 is over already? How time does fly *takes southern accent and shakes head slowly like an old and wise pomegranate peel*

I spent the last evening of 2013 playing Scrabble. This is unbelievably unbelievable for me as 1) I suck at it, and 2) I don’t like it. Upon second reflection my dislike of the game may have something to do with my ability to play it. Anyway, I guess that it’s rather fitting, I’m seeing the year out the same as it’s been for the past 365 days: awful. Because of this I feel totally uninspired when it comes to talking about the past year, which is why I’m going to move right on to my hopes for the year to come. And that’s 2014, in case any of you have been stuck in a cave for a (very long) while.

Firstly, I hope that I’ll find it in me to write 2014 on my school papers. Every year it’s the same old deal: a student’s mind not having registered that a new year of scholastic failure is upon it, it tells the hand to write the year that came before. In my case I stopped registering the new year in 2010, so I still find myself having to angrily turn the 0 into some other number, so that it ends up looking like a potato that has felt the hard times and decided to suicide under the first backhoe that should come along.

Secondly, I would like to get my learner’s permit and be able to drive. My mom told me that on the day of her 16th birthday, the first thing she did was race (get it? no? let’s blame it on the New Year’s alcohol then.) down and register for driving lessons. On my 16th birthday I stuffed my face with cake and cookies until I was about to explode. I want to be able to go to my friends’ when I have homework to do, go shopping and spend all my money on thingsΒ  I don’t need and finally be in a badass car chase that, while it will undoubtedly end with my licence getting taken away, will have been worth it. Hold your ridiculously cool sunglasses Blues Brothers, CT is coming to town.

2014 will see the start of my last year of high school, my SAT scores and my college applications. Dear Great Cookie in the sky, please make the scores stellar and the universities that I apply to accepting! (get it again? still no? damned alcohol I tell you) Otherwise I might be forced to disown you as my favorite deity. Now now, don’t be that way, you know that I could never actually do that. Still, 800s would be nice, and a get into Vassar and Tufts free card would be just peachy. Just… peachy.

Thirdly, I would awfully like my sports teams to be successful. For the Patriots, that starts right at the beginning of the year with the playoffs. I know that we’re not first seed and have an extremely small chance of winning it all, but let’s give ’em a run for their money anyway, whaddya say? Let’s knock Peyton Manning off his high horse. I’m now getting so worked up that I almost just took out my giant alligator named- uh, you don’t need to know. And also, let’s go Mets! 2014 is our year! Sort of, not really, hardly at all. Oh well, let’s go anyway *voice slowly descends ’til it reaches a barely audible whisper*

Finally, I have decided that 2014 would be a prime year to grow up. I need to become serious, lose the childish gullibleledniss (I just couldn’t end 2013 without making up one last word), the constant laughing. I’m going to walk around with a briefcase and be all business-like and no fun at all. If you fell for one word of that growing up nonsense, I highly suggest that you not allow yourself any cookies until next year. See what I did there? I feel so proud πŸ™‚ No, I think I’ll continue being immature, making awful jokes, keeping a blog that is a great helper when it comes to procrastinating and enjoying every second I spend in the kind, funny world of the Internet (see Mom? nothing to worry about here) and making new friends in the most ridiculous ways possible.

Frankly, I don’t know who will read this. The holidays are a time when not many people find time to consecrate to their favorite pastimes, myself included. However to anyone out there who might be reading a silly 16 year old girl’s blog, I wish you all the best for the year to come, and I do so hope that you’ll keep checking in on old CT from time to time. If she doesn’t die from a chocolate overdose. She has been eating a lot of chocolate lately. In that case, checking in on her might be futile.

So HAPPY NEW YEAR, and for the last time in 2013:

Live long and prosper \V/

Yours sincerely,

The Mostly Confused Teenager.

PS: And if you were looking for resolutions, I have decided that since I will without a doubtΒ  abandon them in a dumpster where all the drunks end up tomorrow morning; it is not worth is to take the time to write them all down. Except for one really: eat cookies. The one New Year’s resolution I know I can achieve.

PPS: These are wishes, not resolutions. This basically means that when I look back at the end of 2014 I won’t feel so bad that I didn’t accomplish, um, well we’ll just have to see shan’t we? As a certain Doctor Who character would say… spoilers πŸ˜‰

26 thoughts on “A New Hope

  1. CT!
    It has been a while! Although I blame it on my school schedule.
    I see that you’ve still not lost your wonderful way of writing. (That I adore)
    Well, without further ado, I would like to wish you a very happy and prosperous new year 2014. πŸ™‚

    P. S. I thought I was the only one who got confused about the date. Turns out I was wrong. πŸ˜›

    • I blame a lot on my school schedule too πŸ˜‰ I haven’t been able to read other people’s blogs as much as I’ve wanted, yours included!
      Happy New Year!! And to all a good night! No wait… wrong holiday again.

  2. Well, the year is already 2014, but that doesn’t mean I can’t wish you a happy new year. I’m not really in the mood, since (from what I remember), this is the first year when we didn’t have snow on Christmas nor on New Year’s Eve (or in the new year). It’s simply not right and I am not used to looking out to window without seeing snow in the winter.

  3. I literally laughed out loud reading this. Not snorted air out of my nose. Out loud laughter, the kind that doesn’t happen when reading the Internets. Concerning SAT scores, it would’ve been great if my math score wasn’t 130 points lower than my Reading and Writing scores. I’m glad to be slowly ticking unis off my list now. Two down, three to go! Where will you be applying?

    Take care,
    Addie

    • YAY! πŸ™‚ I’m always glad to make people laugh, so thanks for letting me know! GOOD GOD LADY I am exactly the same! I got 690 and 650 on my Reading and Writing, but only 500 in Math, which, let’s be honest, sucks ass. I’m definitely applying to Vassar and Tufts, but other than that I can’t tell seeing as how the possibilities are diminishing… you?

      • I can’t believe I’ve never heard of those two, they look really good. If I wasn’t going for Journalism I’d definitely like to study social sciences/secondary education at Tufts, it looks like a comprehensive program πŸ˜€ Plus you look like you’re on track with scores. I’m on the same boat here; 680 and 670 on Reading and Writing, and then a 540 in math. My plan is relying heavily on those two scores and hoping nobody cares about math when I’m going into a writing career. Right? Riiiigghhhht? 😦
        I’m applying to New York University, Boston U, Emerson, John Cabot in Rome (safe school) and Concordia in Montreal.
        What do you want to study?

      • Sure sure, it certainly is less important to have good grades in math when you want to become a journalist! Those are great schools, you’re aiming high πŸ™‚ My dad actually went to BU, and since it’s in the greatest city on the planet I personally think it’s awesome ^^ (even though I would never apply there, so go figure).
        I, on the other hand, want to study medicine, for which math is notably more important. It’s not engineering math or whatever, and if I get to university I plan at taking it at a low level, but it’s getting in that’s going going to be rough…

      • Oh awesome! Did he have a good experience at BU? I haven’t had the chance to visit a single university, what with living a couple continents over and all.
        Oh I see. I hope that turns out well. And I’m sure once you’re in you won’t have trouble with the class. I believe if it’s related to a topic you’re passionate about, then you’ll have the motivation to study and do well πŸ™‚

  4. Well one thing is for certain…you are soooo wonderfully funny!…and you know what you should never do? You should never ever loose that ability to laugh in the midst of all the ‘confusing’ bits in life…my daughter has an awesome funny-bone just as you do and 150 years ago when I was your age…that’s what ‘got me through’…..pretty much most things….and it still does! Have a fantastic year…!

    • Oh well thank you! Your comment put a huge grin on my face! And you are still hilarious now, I mean “A steroid-taking pineapple seems to have made a baby with a kumquat/ pheasant in some bio hazardous corner of my imagination”? That’s genius!

      • Genius? ooooh I like that. Yes well I have a kajillion (made that word up) and twenty-nine other corner’s also of equal unusuallyness (made that word up) to sweep out into the world before my work here is done. I feel so iejrufjfkdlslsiejfieoaapzdli (made that word up) about it. O.k now I’m just being silly….I’m exiting stage-left immediately…

  5. I like your sense of humour! I spent most of new year’s eve at home because my guide dog, Trigger is terrified of fireworks and a lot of them went off in my area (as is always the case on new year’s eve). However, after the christmas celebrations I find that new year’s eve can be a bit of an anticlimax. Have a great 2014, Kevin

    • 2 months later, I finally get around to answering.. new year’s in can be nice too, it’s nice to get away from all the hype sometimes! Hope you’re having a great year so far!

Leave a Reply

